There are many different things that people in California do to relax or have fun. They may watch a movie, read a book, go see friends or family, go to parties, restaurants and many other forms of entertainment. When people do go out to have a good time or to relax, many times they also drink alcohol. This may help people relax or loosen up and there is nothing wrong with enjoying alcohol from time to time, but people need to make sure they do not drive if they consume too much.
If people do decide to drive after they have drink too much, they could be charged with a DUI. If they are convicted of a DUI, they face penalties that can have a big effect and costly effect on their lives. Even a first-time DUI can have severe penalties.
Penalties for first DUI conviction
If people are found guilty of a DUI, they could be sent to jail for a minimum of 96 hours and 48 hours must be consecutive. If people can demonstrate that the jail time would affect their employment though, they can serve the time on days that they are not working. People could also be fined a minimum of $390 and up to $1,000.
In addition to the jail time and fine, people will also have their driver’s license suspended for up to six months. Prior to reinstatement people must pay the financial costs and complete a driving under-the-influence program. People may be able to drive with ignition interlock in their vehicles if they meet certain requirements though.
There are many people in California who are charged with a DUI each year. They could face serious consequences if they are convicted, but being charged does not mean people are automatically guilty. There could be defenses available to them, which often times start with whether they had a valid reason to stop the driver. Experienced attorneys understand these potential defenses and may be able to help protect people’s rights.